Jane Johnson BS, LMT Board Certified in Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork


I have been a member of the American Massage Therapy Association since 1991 but became an active volunteer of the AMTA Georgia Chapter in 2000. Defining 'active' means that the Government Relations committee worked very hard to write and push the Massage Therapy Practice Act to become law. Governor Sonny Purdue signed the bill into law in May of 2005! I continue to serve in any capacity for the Chapter.

In 2006, Governor Purdue appointed 5 Board members to the first Board of Massage Therapy. Those members included Kathy Lescak, Melony Phillips, Steve Earles, Marlene Gaskill and myself. Governor Deal appointed me for a second term. I had the honor of serving the first seven years as Chair. I completed 2 full terms and continued to serve another year at the pleasure of the Governor until June 2015.

And, on a National level, I served as the Georgia Delegate to the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) from 2009-2010 and again in 2012 and 2013. In October of 2009, I was elected to the FSMTB Board of Directors for a two year term. I served as the FSMTB Model Practice Act Task Force and served as MPA Chair from 2011-12 and again in 2014. The first Model Practice Act of the massage profession, was released at the 2014 FSMTB Annual Meeting.

Recently elected to the American Massage Therapy Association National Board as a Director, my term is from 2020-22.